Our History

In the late 1990’s, the staff and Board at Sherwood Park’s Domestic Violence Organization, A Safe Place, started noting the alarming number of clients come to them with Domestic Violence issues as well as Sexual Violence issues. They knew they needed to branch out and hire someone to help specifically with the sexual violence impacts. In 1998, A Safe Talk was born. Originally housed inside the Domestic Violence shelter, it was one single counsellor trained to support individuals who had experienced Sexual Violence. Quickly word spread around the community, and people began seeking support from the therapist for their own experiences.

Strathcona Sexual Assault Centre was created in September of 2000 in response to the need of the community. It wasn’t until early 2003 we were able to afford to move to their own location and hire a second employee. In 2007, we changed our name to SAFFRON Sexual Assault Centre.

In December 2017, we moved into our new location on Athabascan Avenue. We have 9 counselling rooms plus a large play room! We have grown to have 7 staff and 4 contract therapists. We are bigger than ever and keep growing steadily! We have seen an ongoing need from members of our community, rural areas, Edmonton, and outlying communities as well.

Our Counselling Program

Seeds of Healing Therapy

Effective therapy looks not only at the surface of the problem, but the underlying individual, intrapersonal, familial, social, and cultural issues. We work at providing outstanding service and care to victims of:

  • Recent or historical sexual assault, and sexual abuse
  • Sexual violence, including sexual exploitation
  • Recent or historical childhood sexual assault, and/or abuse
  • PTSD as a result of sexual trauma

These services are also provided to caregivers and supporters of sexual assault, sexual abuse or sexual violence.

Support for Victims of Crime

Information and assistance available for applying for Financial Benefits and Restitution and writing Victim Impact Statements. Court Preparation and Court Accompaniment also available.

Board Members

Chair: Mike Shellenberg

Executive Director: Katie Kitschke

Secretary: Ken Glover

Treasurer: Roxane Tiessen

Directors: Ted Halabi, Brett Dermott, Bill Tonita, Carrie Ellinger, Leanne Austring

Leave a Reply